Spotted: Some David Sedaris Book


I am fairly familiar with the cover art used on the books of David Sedaris, so I am embarrassed to admit that I saw one of David Sedaris’s books today, but I have no idea which one.  I see the seemingly dia-de-los-muertos-inspired “When You Are Engulfed in Flames”* and the angular chalkboard font of “Me Talk Pretty One Day” on an almost weekly basis.

But this one I couldn’t place, and I couldn’t get a look at the title.  It was sort of white or cream-colored background, with a simple font and maybe a picture of a coffee cup on it?  It kind of looked like a JD Salinger novel (e.g.), but with a cup o’ joe on it.  Did I totally make this up? 

So, instead, I’m going to pretend that I actually saw his “Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk,” which I didn’t know existed until I tried googling around to figure out what book I had seen. 

 It looks awkward and adorable.  And being familiar with some of his other work, I’m going to guess it’s pretty hilarious as well.  The story of Monseiur Sedaris’s French course in  “Me Talk Pretty One Day,” is one of the few real-world examples where I have “LOL”d and scared the bajesus out of the lady next to me on the bus.   

* Turns out that it is a Van Gogh painting.  Learn something new every day!

2 thoughts on “Spotted: Some David Sedaris Book

  1. Just in time for the festivities of 2012, (or the end of
    the world) I am here to let you know that the David Sedaris book
    you saw was very likely “Holidays on Ice”. Better late than never.
    You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

