Spotted: A book I really really want to read. Really.


More often than not, when I post about a book on here, I am mildly intrigued.  I think, “Oh, I am not familiar with that author…might be interesting…or at least different.”  But thus far, I don’t think I’ve actually sought any of them out to read.  Well all of that is about to change.  Most likely.  More likely than not.  Just.  God I’m lazy. 

I saw the “The Warmth of Other Suns,” on the train the other day and was more than mildly intrigued.  I was just this side of fascinated.  What a title!  Maybe it was because SF was experiencing torrential downpours at the time, so that any title with both “warmth” and “sun” would have triggered my literary salivary gland.  But my subsequent research into its contents appears even more interesting than my longing for Vitamin D.   

In “The Warmth of Other Suns,” Ms. Wilkerson “has documented the sweeping 55-year-long migration of black Americans [from the South] across their own country.”  After interviewing more than 1,200 people for the book, Ms. Wilkerson narrowed the stories down to three, each one from a different decade. To borrow a cliché, truth is often more epic than fiction.   

I think it sounds like a fascinating work.  And you don’t have to take my word for it (thanks for the memories LeVar!).  Last month the book won the National Book Critics Circle Award for nonfiction. 

Available from the Booksmith

For those of us who are still using analog e-readers, aka, books, it appears that it is still only in hardback. 

Leave a Reply

