Mario Vargas Llosa Wins Nobel


According to this Washington Post Article, this Peruvian author is a “well known” writer who is a “perennial candidate.”  Now, I could read the Wikipedia entry on him and pretend like I know who he is and how this award was a long time in coming.  But the truth is I’ve never heard of the guy.   I will say that I think it was time for Latin/South America to have one of its own picked for the award though.  I think the last one was Marquez sometime in the 1980s (also not looking this up, does that sound right?)

So how about it.  Is he Nobel worthy?  First person I see reading one of his books on Muni will probably get accosted by yours truly.

Leave a Reply

