Self-Help on the 6


This morning a passenger on the six read, not one, but two self-help books and I was intrigued for multiple reasons. One being that I have always questioned just how helpful self-help books are. Another reason I was intrigued was that the book titles allowed me to easily begin to imagine a life story for this passenger and within a couple blocks I had imagined reasons why she needed advice, who was giving her trouble, and how she was going to turn her life around. Don’t worry I will divulge the names of these books.

Book number one was “How to be an Adult: A Handbook on Psychological and Spiritual Integration” by David Richo. Initially book number one caught my eye because of the phrase, “How to be an Adult,” to which immediately I mentally responded, “Does anyone really know how to be an adult?” Upon further review the book appears to be more about balancing your adult life psychologically and spiritually. Book number two was titled, “Buddhism without Beliefs: A Contemporary Guide to Awakening”  by Stephen Batchelor. I immediately diagnosed a crisis of religion and yet, I found it interesting that both books were geared more towards maturity and divurged from mainstream religion. Even though I am a little skeptical of self-help books I do hope that she finds what she is looking for!

One thought on “Self-Help on the 6

Leave a Reply

